Brand Spankers

fatmuf

Hey all, as I'm sure many have said before me, I used to fish with my old man when I was younger and the time has come that now I am real keen on getting into fishing.

I'm really just looking at jetty and creek/river fishing and anything around that but I have no idea how to progress succesfully from this point. I've bought myself a new rod and tackle box, etc. from BCF and now I'm looking into trying out maybe places like Schulz Canal, Nudgee Creek, and really anywhere around Northside.

Trouble is, as I'm brand new to the scene, I have no idea where to go, what to look for, what hooks/sinkers/baits to use for different spots, freshwater, saltwater, blah blah blah, and i'm pretty damn hopeless haha. I could really use a hand in learning the bits and pieces and getting the know-how I need.

I can't even tell apart the different fish species at this point, and wouldnt know how big fish of certain species can get, nor how big they need to be for me to keep them. Then there's the matter of knowing whether or not I can eat the bastard.

I don't know much but I DO know that someone here can help me, so that's all I ask.

Anything will help. If anything, other newbies can look at this thread and the advice i've received and not have to look like such a tool.

Alaways appreciative, fatmuf. :silly:

Welcome aboard.

I'll start....

A lot of tackle outlets have laminated cards with the common species' picture and bag/size limits. Get one of those to start with.

Don't take a fish if you don't know what it is (many do). just take a pic and check later or ask here.

Check in the Going Fishing Forum as quite often spots are available/offered on boats with another member (called Decky spots). Quickest way to learn.

I'm sure there'll be plenty more bits of advice flooding in, so I'll leave it at that. :)

Hi FatMuf

I have a mate who is exactly like yourself, he has not got a clue, however yesterday he caught a squire while I never scratched up a mark.