My (late) bay fishing report (07/07/07)

Bullrout

Hi all, reports a bit late but, i've been crook as this whole week! Never spend a night out on the bay in winter with a sick person (how stupid am i!)

I was, in my defense, promised my first BIG jew... So with that in mind, an all nighter with my recovering-from-flu mate on his 4.3m was a risk i was willing to take, I'd been down to kooky that afternoon and got myself about 30 good size bait mullet, and at around 2100 we were dropping the boat into the redland bay boat ramp. We motored off to karagara island jetty to get a few pike and drop off crab traps, and there was heaps of surface activity, so i started playing around with my 2kg flicker and a smiths shrimp jig - i love this little lure! In about the hour (it only seemed like 15mins to me) i was told i was fishin, i got 13 tailor, 2 bream, 2 pike (including one who took the lure when i had it just dangling in the water while typing a mesage on my phone)! They were all undersized but great fun!

With a couple of pike, and the mullet in our possesion we headed off to a deep hole my mate knows about, and set out dropping some whole livies down for some action, it was an awesome night, lotsa stars, even more apperead the more rum i drank, and i was pretty set to get a jew. Unfortunatly nothing happened. At All. Save my mate catching a cast net that look like it had been in the water for 30 yrs (cast nets fight real good!)

So we moved a couple of times around the ledge during the night, lying in swags and having a bit of a snooze waiting to hear the magical zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz of a drag...

Nope.

Nothing. We woke at about 5, just before sunrise, pulled in our baits. Not touched - no crab, squid or fishy bite marks. It was rather sad!