Batman hits Maroon!

batman

The missus and I popped up to Maroon for a weekend away with some mates. We stayed in a huge Qld'er up on the hill that had a caretaker who would fit right in the movies like "The Shining" or Texas Chainsaw Massacre"...man he was creepy!

The weekend was a bit of a blow out for fishing as the wind was absolutely pumping so Saturday was spent flying around on a 1200cc Honda sit on top style jetski. Holy Mother of God do these things fly!!!

After a boozy night I hit the water at 6am, I had scoped out the shallow water timber area at the top of the dam. I found this cool little stream/river that ran down into this area, armed with new lures I got from Charltons a short paddle latter I got into some water that looked really fishy.

Having never fished freshwater on lures before I am a complete noob! I cast a Zarra Puppy and tried to get the ol walk the dog action going but the bass must have been pissing themselves as I was doing it so badly! After that I tried every lure I had purchased and even a few "saltwater" hard bodies but nothing!! It was frustrating because there was an old fella and his son catching heaps of fish on worms fifty feet from me off the bank!! The sun was high and I was pissed off that I was going to go home with a 0.

I tied up to a snag and looked deep into my tackle bag to see a little tackle box that I had purchased years ago...a real K Mart special...but it said “Fresh water tackle†so I opened it and saw a little fluro jig head with a fluro shrimp soft plastic. I rigged it up cast it out left it for a bit then flicked it twice and bang I was on!! woohoo...after a nice little fight on 6lb my first little bass came to the yak! A few pics and he swam off..... next cast same process ...zzzz bang another little fella came up...two in 5 min.