Bull Sharks are Fun and Tasty!!

Judge

Landed two nice 3ft bull sharks today on the Logan River shoreline.

My daughter and I set up and there was hardly anything for two hours. Just about to head home at 6.20pm, 2 hours out from low tide and BAM!! 2 bull sharks within 10 minutes.

We kept the bigger of the two and let the other go.

Head and tail off and gutted, skinned and filleted within 30 minutes.

Took it home, salted a little and bagged for freezing, kept enough out for dinner. Beer batter and oil pan fryed on the BBQ.

These bull sharks and so much fun to get on and land and they taste great! I'm no expert, but I think many people underate shark as a recreational fish and an eating fish?

I've heard that you have to bleed, gut, skin and fillet within 30 minutes of landing and then you can eat and/or freeze.

This is what I've done and they are tasty. We did catch a few (2 weeks ago) and left them in the boat for 3 hours, then filleted them, but didn't skin them and then BBQ them with the skin on.

Well, I was crook the next day, so maybe the urea is a problem?

Anyway, they are fun to catch, they are around right now and we're landing them on nylon covered wire, 3/0 bait holder hook and half pilchard tail end.

Cheers

Judge

Judge, without being an expert myself... IF you were sick the next day due to the shark, maybe it was because you left the skin on. You'll notice a nice amonia smell when you pull them out of the water, maybe some of that is in the skin, and thus, in your food when you eat it? who knows?:S

Judge wrote:

Landed two nice 3ft bull sharks today on the Logan River shoreline.

My daughter and I set up and there was hardly anything for two hours. Just about to head home at 6.20pm, 2 hours out from low tide and BAM!! 2 bull sharks within 10 minutes.

We kept the bigger of the two and let the other go.

Head and tail off and gutted, skinned and filleted within 30 minutes.