local knowledge required

msuffolk

Hi everyone. my name is michael, i am a youthworker and i work with 2 young kids (12-14) who are showing a real interest in fishing, we bought them fishing rods for christmas, but i dont know where to take them as i am only new to brisbane, the only place i have taken them is wellington point, we went last week and caught 2 size whiting which the boys LOVED, and since then they have developed a real taste for fishing, i was hoping someone might be able to suggest some other locations to take them (saltwater ir fresh)? we are located around springfield. but can drive anywhere in brisbane.

these kids have very little in their lives to be happy about, so thanks so much for any help at all.

-michael

p.s also if anyone knows where i can find some good dvd's that will teach basic sort of stuff, that would be great too.

Gday mate and welcome to teh site.

Good work your doing, much respect.

The best thing i can suggest is to look in the forums at the Brisbane Rivers and Creeks Reports section as well as the generic Salwater and Freshwater sections. This dicusses numerous locations, many of which are land based and youth friendly.

Also keep checking teh site, as we often have social days and bbq's both formal and informal. A great place to meet like minded fisho's from every age bracket. The best way to check out whats happening in to look in the \"Going Fishing\" section of the forum. I will be trying to organise a fishing day and bbq next month at North Pine Dam so ill Pm you when im more certain of timings etc. Maybe the Australia Day long weekend?

At a pinch, from Springfield, you may want to try Colleges Crossing and Kookooburra Park. This place has plenty of bream and catfish to keep young anglers entertained. Also does not hurt to put a wire trace on another line as there are plenty of Bull Sharks there. Dont worry about light gear, many of these sharks are not that big. But you can have a look in the reports for pics :)