Baitcaster or Spinning?

Hey everyone, i've been fishing since I was a kid but have never really gotten right into it until the last year. I have always used med priced spinning gear on the cheaper side but have noticed recently that it doesn't really hold up with the bigger fish, I mean I still get them in but when I look at my old abu spinning reel and its twisting and buckling under the strain its only a matter of time before it gives and I lose a good fish.

So my question is, should I get myself a baitcaster or a good spinner, I have never used a baitcaster before but leaning towards 1 for the strength and line capacity but don't know how they will cast being that I'm still land based for now?? I'm only looking to spend about $2-300 and it will be used mainly for sharks and threadies until I get my boat. Can I get a strong enough spinner that will hold a decent amount of line in that price range?

I have been looking at the okuma range lately(baitcaster) mainly because of the lifetime warranty, are they a strong reel?

Any help would be appreciated

Thanks,

Paul

From personal experience I have favoured Daiwa gear. They build em strong and if your willing to spend a couple of hundred you can pick up a nice baitcaster or spin reel. Spin would probably be a better bet if you are chasing line burning fish like threadies... A 3000 size reel would be a pretty choice, they are a good size and you can fish in a variety of different situations with them...have a look at the Daiwa Tierra spinning range.

Don't be suckered by "lifetime warrenties", whats the point if the thing falls to peices all the time? I have had Shimano and Daiwa reels for years and they have never given up on me. Anyway I hope you get somethin' you like. After all buying the gear is half the fun!!! :P

cheers,

Hugh

noname wrote:

check out the daiwa oceano 4500, certainly in that price range and would even get it spooled and still have change. it's a spinning reel.