Best fishing reefs (northern tip Moreton Island)

fishing-mavericks

Boys! How is the fishing been just outside the partially smooth zone lately? I'm fed up with Mud Island and the bay so I'm going to spend the next few weeks launching from Scarborough and heading out the northern end of the bay. I've got no experience in those waters but have heard there are heaps of reefs, can anyone point me in the right direction or suggest some spots?

Nobody likes to give up their GPS plottings for free, so I've got a file that has about 200 markings for anyone that wants to do a swap and expand their charts. So if you've got some productive plottings that aren't too far outside (I've only got a 100 litre tank) please let me know. Places known for pelagics would be great, but I'm looking to do some reef bashing on large livies and plastics mostly

Thanks everyone :)

Nick

Moreton_GPS_plottings.txt

The second mark Rob posted is known as western rocks. I have never fished it but is meant to be a good cobia and mackerel spot.

We usually fish shallow tempest and consistently do well year round. The GPS coordinates you have for shallow tempest are way out. They are close to henderson's rock and I am pretty sure they are in a green zone.

Shallow tempest is about 5km north of that mark.

27 04.720 153 09.018 Is the NNW end of shallow tempest. The northern end fishes the best. The key is to drift fish and not anchor. If you drift N -> S anywhere up to 200m E of that point you will cover some very productive ground. In light winds your drift will always be N->S. Anything with any southerly in it unless it is very light is a pain in the butt. As current versus wind = bitch to keep your bait on the bottom without big sinkers.

Don't bother fishing patternosters they are crap for those reefs. Floatline lightest weight possible or fish plastics or lucanus jigs. Providing you fish dawn or dusk session you will come up with the goods.