pro fisheman

THAKEENESTFLATHEADANGLER

i want a career in fishing but i dont want to trawl with nets i want to linefsh for a living now i know u can be a charterman or a line fishing trawler but i want to be a pro fisheman like starlo or bushy but how would i do that ... would i hav to ge sponsered by a company first e.g berkely, enter lot of comps or be in a magazine how do i do it :(

THAKEENESTFLATHEADANGLER wrote:

i want a career in fishing but i dont want to trawl with nets i want to linefsh for a living now i know u can be a charterman or a line fishing trawler but i want to be a pro fisheman like starlo or bushy but how would i do that ... would i hav to ge sponsered by a company first e.g berkely, enter lot of comps or be in a magazine how do i do it :(

You need to make your name well known - get your name published as much as possible, catch lots of fish, win comps etc. A Pro fisherman is simply someone who is paid to fish - usually by their sponsors, and sponsors are only interested if their name will be seen by other anglers.

Good luck and remember us all when your sponsors are giving you freebie's!! :P

start fishing ABT, KFT, Pirtek Challenge, any comp thats going, and win every time. On your casual trips and comps take lots of hi-res pics and write great informative articles and send them to all the magazines. Do your homework and find out the size/format/type of article these publications want. And many years time, you might make a few $$$ out of it.

You also need to make sure your pics of big fish you have caught have have the latest most expensive lures in their gobs, latest most expensive rods and reel in the back ground of the photo's. These are the blokes your trying to attract interest from. its their gear they want promoted.

Feral wrote: