Article on illegal fishing/white bucket brigade?

albertpetersen

Allo,

I'm a freelance journalist & amateur fish-catcher; I'm working on an article about illegal fishing (all aspects) and would love to interview anyone with an opinion on this. My knowledge of the subject is kind of limited (aside from what I hear from chatting to other anglers) so I'd appreciate any info you can give me.

Cheers

A/P

I reckon the title should be foreign rapists" that should catch the eye. I fish at the river below north pine dam and ive seen em there a few times with 2 or 3 Rods each taking everything they catch, big or small, under or over size. And you'd be pretty certain they'd know the regulations involved. they've been busted a few times by fisheries but they keep going back there. And also heard theres a fish and chip shop owned by this mob in Chermside where you can choose the bass you want to cook up. That last part is rumor. Still interesting. Best of luck mate

One thing you will find is that most fishers do the right thing and adhere not only by the rules but beyond the rules with many 'keepers by law' being returned to the water.

In my region (Hervey Bay) the locals are very clued up with the regulations and generally it is the overseas tourist that occasionaly (and I do mean occasionally) inadvertantly go and try to keep fish that are undersized with locals quick to point out to them they are not allowed to do what they are doing, at which time the tourist is happy to oblige and release the fish.