Charity Event - KIDS Tackle-A-Fish

Dee

Hi All,

I have been speaking to Angus, and I have decided to put the below to the AFO members.

First of all, for the people that don’t know me, I am an administrator on www.fishingaustralia.com.au and a keen fisho. I currently work in Admin, and on a volunteer bases I work with mentally and/or physically disabled kids, taking them on camps and day rec activities. These special kids have disabilities such as Down Syndrome, cerabyl Palsy, epilepsy, Autism, Depression, ADD/ADHD and many others. The kids are low-medium needs, which means, that most kids can communicate well and do things for themselves, but just need a bit of encouragement and help.

Last year I organised a fishing charity day for these special kids called KIDS Tackle-A-Fish which I held last February. The aim of the day is to not only teach the kids how to fish but also get the kids doing something fun and something they wouldn’t normally be able to do.

The day was a complete success, and with sponsorship, the kids all received a showbag of goodies, including fishing mags, DVDs, lures, stickers and lots more, as well as a Tackle box with all the tackle they needed for the day, prizes to give away, and also a BBQ lunch was provided.

For the next years event I will be holding KIDS Tackle-A-Fish in the QLD area, most likely Gold Coast.

Fishing Australia as well as Brisbane Fishing Online are the major sponsors of this charity day, and through them we will be making the charity event a continued success in the coming years.

What I am asking of the AFO members, is to give up one day early next year to come and volunteer on the day, to spend the day teaching these kids to fish and tie rigs, manning the BBQ and many others jobs that would make the day successful and also if needed volunteer the use of your rods and reels.