Love Red Tape Cop This Lot

Gad

Taken from Thurs Fishing Worlds` Email Newsletter

LETTER: Red tape gone mad

05 Jul 2012

THIS letter from well known charter skipper Captain Tim Dean - Calypso Fishing Adventures details the regs etc now needed to operate in the new federal marine park set up. It's red tape gone mad!

I have been involved with the development process of the new MPA for all Commonwealth waters in Australia since its inception many years ago. I am a charter operator utilising the entire east coast of Australia through numerous existing MPA’s, in two different states.

To continue to operate in the newly announced MPA’s I have to now apply to the Department of the Environment and Water Resources for an approval from the Director of the National Parks..? Two separate Federal Government Departments.

So get your application from someone and get approval from someone else..Seem strange? Well if you have been in the industry for as long as I, no not strange at all.

Here is why.

To operate my vessel Calypso and to take a PAYING passenger fishing I have the following obligations:

NSW:

NSW Maritime, NSW Marine Park Authority, NSW Department of Primary Industry from whom I hold a Master Class 5 license, Marine Engineering certificate, NSW Survey certificate, NSW MPA permit for Port Stephens Great Lakes MPA and a NSW Charter Boat Fishing license all of which have a mandatory submittal of logbook returns to continue to operate or face fines and cancellation of your life as you know it, if you don’t remember to have them submitted on time.

QLD:

Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority (GBRMPA is a federal Government body), QLD Department of Transport, QLD Department of Primary Industry from each I hold a GBRMPA permit, QLD survey Certificate, Master 5 Certificate, Marine Engineers Certificate, Commercial Tour Permit (charter fishing).Each of these has mandatory logbook submittals or lose your life as you know it and a fine.