Land-based (lure) fishing on Brisbane River

gobac

Hello friends,

I have been a faithful follower of this forum but, as an average fisherman, I never had anything of value to contribute. Thank you so much for the hints and tips over the years.

Recently, I've decided to set one day a week aside to fish up and down the Brisbane River with nothing but my backpack with some tackle (with various lures) and a light rod. Ideally I would spend good 5-6 hours each morning fishing and be home before midday for all other responsibilities.

I would like some tips on spots to pick that would produce some sort of action with lures and which lures, you think, would work best. Stories of past success are welcome :)

I am fairly new to fishing with hard and soft plastics and would like to know what sort of retrieving techniques worked for you on Brissy River (land-based).

Thank you in advance

I wish to target any fish that would take my lure :)

To answer your question, I am not sure. I will try several different types of lures (recommended for all sorts of species) but I do not have a particular fish in mind.

Thank you,

I will start from Breakky Creek and see how I go there. There are lots of pics of people pulling out some big fish from that area.

Previously I have fished Tennyson area and around Chelmer but never with lures. I pulled out plenty of catfish and few eels and nothing else.

Ok now that I've seen so many lure retrieval videos, that I actually dreamt about them last night, I'm ready to give it a go this weekend. Can anyone suggest a lure that worked for them at Breakky Creek?

It depends on what you want to target in brekky creek really. Use a smaller soft plastic/hard body if you want bream or a bigger (maybe 4 or 5" or more) soft plastic if u want to track down some threadies/jewies or whatever is lurking in there. Ive never fished there myself, but if you try a variety of plastics/hardbodies and different retrieval methods you cant go wrong.