trolling lure setup?

grantbudd74

Hi guys

Thanks for all the great help and advice so far. One day when the wind dies down im hoping to get out so in the meantime im learning and getting ready :-)

My troll setups are 2x TLD 25 loaded with IGFA 15KG mono and beastmaster troll rods.

The lures I have only 2 as this is my first try are Yo-Zuri hydro magnum 95g 180mm dive depth 7-9m. 2 for the price of one so I had to get them as they looked really good next to the x-raps.

Trying to save a bit of cash so keeping new equipment costs down is preferable. How would I run them? Im thinking have a wire leader around 30-40cm in length around the 40lb mark with one swivel to my main line and thats all.

Bri i have your mono rig to try but will wait until I have a few cheaper lures as these are $40 each :-)

On you tube I see people running leaders of 30ft and 80-120LB mono....Pretty sure that isnt going to happen but this was i conjunction with attractor lures.

Is it just a case of letting these float out beyond the wash of my boat 50+m and then put the boat into gear and set the speed to around 10kmph?

The lures are both the same just the colours differ...Stagger them at different distances or side by side? Attractor lures?

Im planning to follow the headland from noosa to Sunshine beach and then go straight out to the reef where I will set them up for different fishing like a balloon and deadbaits.

Lastly how much drag would you set up on the TLD? Given im running 15KG mono should it be around 3-5kg at strike?

This is all new unused gear and I have never trolled before but i'm very willing to try while en-route to the reef.

Also given I have standard port and starboard holders should I rubber band the lines down low to reduce the angle of the line and lure in the water?

I do have 3 way port and starboard snapper racks but can see the whole lot going over the side if I get a good hit... will use rod leashes just in case that should happen.

cheers guys :-)