My Maiden Quest For The Perfect Venison

Drop Bear

I love eating venison. I have never shot a deer before but I have always wanted to get my own rather than buy farmed animals and have been told there are a surprising number of deer around. After telling Angus about a recent trip i went on he encouraged me to put up a little report as in his words "It shouldn't be surprising that a lot of the people on the forum love hunting as well". So if you are not into deer hunting probably don't read this. Sorry there are no photos but I didn't shoot for trophies and I didn't want to take photos of dead deer.

So a little about me and why I wanted to hunt deer. I used to be a chef but it all got a bit much for me. I am happy that I no longer work in this industry but am glad that it has left me with a great appreciation of quality produce and what to do with it. I eat meat and I prefer to know that the animals I eat come from a sustainable source, have had a good life and die humanly. This has drawn me to fishing for my whole life and, only in the past few years, has sparked my interest in hunting deer. I had hoped that hunting a deer would let me feed my friends and family the most sustainable and humane meat that I know of. The feral deer are not fenced or fed. They spend a lot of time in the national parks and on farmland. The farmers are glad to have them gone so they no longer compete with their cattle. I am not after heads so would head shoot my deer for venison and try to eat every part of the deer that I can.