Need Help (amature) Golden Perch/ Murry Cod

npiet1

So I newish to fishing (new to fresh water), well I fished since I was little but it was always tie hook and sinker with bait prawns or squid and cast (Salt water). Nothing more. Now I've moved far inland, and I live near a river (gil weir) that houses golden perch and murry cod. I just can't catch any though (I know its not the season I havn't tried for a while but thinking about it soon when it gets warmer). I've tried lures of different types (I've never used them before), prawns and yabbies. My main problem is snags (I'm almost out of lures,hooks and have to buy a new rod as it snapped, still got some hand wheels). I tried sun rise, sun set and middle of the day to no prevail, Even wearing clothes to match my surroundings.  The most frustrating thing is that at sunset or rise, you see the cod everywhere feeding. Is there any advice anyone can give?

I was in a similar position as you many years ago. Never caught native fish only trout on lures. The amount of gear I lost was ridiculous so, I hired an exceptional fresh water guide when I was in Victoria. After one day with him I started to catch fish and lost far less gear. 

If only fishing from the banks I'd say spinner baits and hardbodies like stump jumpers are the most snag resistant when you have the right set up. You can catch plenty on soft plastics but they snag easy if not rigged weedless. When the water is warm fishing any early morning or evening with surface lures great for cod. Best yellowbelly lure I have used would be the Jackel TN60 but, I would not recommend these when fishing from a bank where it's hard to retrieve them. 

When looking where to cast look for structure where current pushes food towards. The fish will be facing into the current will be waiting to ambush bait as it is swept past the snag. Look where the sun is the fish will be on the shadow side of the snag generally. Fish the shade bank as well.