Getting Back Into It

a-frame81

Hi All,

Getting back into fishing more regularly after kids. Mostly hitting up the freshwater lakes around Canberra, with mixed results. I just found the forum today so I thought I'd join up.

No boat at the moment (1st boat went to help buy the house), but hoping to get another in the next couple of years.

Hi Ellicat & Hamish

Kids are still small, just now past the baby stage (youngest is 4). I've mostly caught redfin (european Perch) but have caught one 40cm Yellowbelly. That's my only native so far. I've started to fish with bigger lures hoping for a Murray Cod, but no luck so far. Might have to head to one of the rivers or try some different spots in the lakes.

Time is still short but I'm generally getting out once every 1-2 weeks, which is a vast improvement on the recent past. We also head down to the coast a couple of times a year so I get some saltwater action from time to time.

I'm only new to lures after growing up baitfishing, so I'm always learning as well. 

With the 40th coming next year, I figure I'll ask for a tinny again so I can get on the water and troll for the natives to shake things up a bit.

Cheers.

Hey a-frame81

Rightio, hopefully you can get a monster Murray soon. Sounds like you will do god if you get a tinny also, I am a yakker (as well as my Dad) so we normally kayak around in the Brisbane River. 🙂 

I am a bait fisho also, I have only caught one lone flathead (50cm) on a lure before, but I'm looking to improve that.

Cheers Hamish 🙂 

I've been looking at the tinny vs kayak debate and trying to decide which to go for. Around Canberra a yak would let me access more of the lakes  as there aren't may with boat ramps, but not sure my back would cope with lugging it around and lifting it onto the roof racks. Unfortunately I haven't been kind to my back in the past and it's already catching up with me.

How do you find the yak, lifting etc?

Hi a-frame81