Trailer Indicator Stays On When Headlights Are On

Ryannnnnnnn

Hello, 

My driver side indicator stays on (continually, not blinking) when my brake lights or parkers are on. A bloke at the boat ramp mentioned its probably a grounding issue. 

I'm a newb at this kind of stuff. My understanding is there should be a white cable secured to the trailer, but I can't find it? Is that with both old and newer trailers? It's probably around a 2012 model dunbier. 

I've tested it using two cars and both times I had issues. 

Any hints on how to fix it would be much appreciated! 

Cheers, 

Ryan 

Check your plug first (both the plug and the receiver). Squirt some WD40 or similar in. Test. If still not working properly, open up your lights and you will probably see some corrosion. Clean it up with some hot water and a wire brush. Test. If working, pack some electrical grease around the terminals etc. If not, ask @rayke1938.

Cheers yeah I opened up the connector and sprayed some innox didn't have wd40. I tried to open up the led trailer lights but there's no screw or obvious access to open it up - kind of looks sealed. Is that common? 

@rayke1938 @ellicat Couldn't see anything loose in the connector in any case. How does it ground if the white wires aren't secured to the trailer itself. 

The lights are normally encapsulated . Still white wire and terminal number 3 for earth. Can you get to where the cable from the plug joins to the wires coming out of the lights. Check the joint first for breakage or corrosion, If the cable is fairly old it may be corroded internally. Fairly common for water to ingress the earth wire and turn it black and the wire eventually goes brittle and breaks. Check for continuity between the terminal number 3 and the other end of white wire. If you want to bring boat to redland bay i can run a meter over it for you not on wednesday or sunday as they are fishing days. 0403072325

Ok you have tested it with two cars and have the same issue.