New to fishing and after set up advice

FadKing

Hi,

I am new to fishing. I have done it but often use BIL's gear.

Would love to get something for myself. Likely to be used while camping,  at Christmas time at our beach house (with river)  and the odd weekend.

I'm not going to be out every weekend but as often as I can.

Type will be estuary and fresh, mostly from bank but intend on getting a kayak at some point.

If there is an allrounder style set up that would be awesome.

Would love to chase flathead, bream, whiting and bass etc in the fresh.

Budget: would love to keep it under $200 as my first but could stretch to $250 if it was worth it.

Would love some advice.

Cheers

For a starting outfit I would be aiming for a 2500 size reel, 10 - 12lb line and a rod in the 2 to 4kg range.

I have a Daiwa Revros 2500 reel matched to a Revros rod as a 10lb setup and find it well suited to the fish you wish to target.

Eventually you will probably want to go lighter for the sport of it, but that is where I would start. The Revros outfit will see you out of it for under $250 including 150 metres of braid.

2 hours ago, FadKing said:

Hi,

I am new to fishing. I have done it but often use BIL's gear.

Would love to get something for myself. Likely to be used while camping,  at Christmas time at our beach house (with river)  and the odd weekend.

I'm not going to be out every weekend but as often as I can.

Type will be estuary and fresh, mostly from bank but intend on getting a kayak at some point.

If there is an allrounder style set up that would be awesome.

Would love to chase flathead, bream, whiting and bass etc in the fresh.

Budget: would love to keep it under $200 as my first but could stretch to $250 if it was worth it.

Would love some advice.

Cheers