New rod for a Stradic Ci4+ 3000 reel

Bandicoot

I recently dug out my old fishing gear and found a very nice 30+ year old spinning rod (I think it was a Loomis blank). The old Abu Garcia reel was couldn't be saved and on impulse I bought a Stradic Ci4+ 3000 reel to replace it. It is still a nice rod but I think I should buy a better rod for the new Stradic and buy a cheaper reel for the old rod. I am an absolute amateur and will fish the Hawkesbury and coastal estuary spots for bream, flathead and whiting with my grandkids. Can anyone recommend a one piece rod that will suit the Ci4+ 3000? The old rod is in great condition and is a tad under 6 foot. Should I buy a cheaper Shimano reel such as a Nasci for the old rod? 

Hey Bandicoot

Welcome to the forum. Glad you found the old rod and reel 🙂 

If you're looking for something hardy, and Ugly Stik would be great. It won't break and will still be nice in hands, and good for Whiting, Bream, and Flathead. You'd want something around the 6"6'-8" mark. Another option would be an Abu Garcia Veritas, might be a little more expensive but will still suit nicely. They'll both do the job for you 🙂 

A Nasci, Sienna, or even a Diawa Shinobi will go nicely on your rod (or so I'd think). I've got all three of those reels and like each and every one of them. I'd go with the Nasci; they are very smooth and also nice feeling in hands.

Good luck, and let us know how you go.

Cheers Hamish

19 hours ago, Bandicoot said: