Steve.573
Go to solution Solved by Brodie_S,

7 hours ago, Breaming with bro said:

Yeah it’s a fork tail catfish I caught a few big ones up at the Whitsundays before they go hard for their size although I don’t think they are good eating but I’ve never tried eating them before

Hi Bro

My apologies, as I said this too, but with a bit of a better search, that species is not a Forktail Catfish, but is a Blue Catfish. Forkies tend to be a lot darker in colour, and do not have those light coloured bands.

Cheers Hamish

4 hours ago, AUS-BNE-FISHO said:

Hi Bro

My apologies, as I said this too, but with a bit of a better search, that species is not a Forktail Catfish, but is a Blue Catfish. Forkies tend to be a lot darker in colour, and do not have those light coloured bands.

Cheers Hamish

Scientific name? I thought the main saltwater catfish speices of Australia were Forktail catfish ,striped eel tailed catfish and cobbler I’ve heard of blue catfish which are a American speices of catfish and salmon catfish are a freshwater only speices from my knowledge and look a fair bit different then forkys to me. They must have different names up in Queensland or something cause I couldn’t find any speices that sounded like your description darker then forkys and the light bands on the fish’s stomach area

7 hours ago, Breaming with bro said:

Scientific name? I thought the main saltwater catfish speices of Australia were Forktail catfish ,striped eel tailed catfish and cobbler I’ve heard of blue catfish which are a American speices of catfish and salmon catfish are a freshwater only speices from my knowledge and look a fair bit different then forkys to me. They must have different names up in Queensland or something cause I couldn’t find any speices that sounded like your description darker then forkys and the light bands on the fish’s stomach area

Hey Bro