Need help with soft plastics

Jake88

I can't teach due to work but happy to give some advise.

While you're walking the flats at low tide keep an eye out for old flathead "lies" from the previous high tide.

Basically looking for indentations in the sand where the flathead have settled in or buried themselves for camouflage. Much the same as rays do. 

Hey Jake

Best of luck. Welcome to the forum.

I am no expert on soft plastic fishing for flatties, but I have a couple tips which may help a bit:

- Make sure your plastic is on the bottom. If your plastic is to light it will not get into the right zone for flatties.

- Try and 'match the hatch' - don't go using a 6 inch soft plastic if the only thing you are seeing is 4 inch baitfish. Try and match the hatch to what you think is in the area.

Hope that helps,

Hamish

• 3 weeks later...

Hi mate, flatties on plastics is quite easy and there or a couple of techniques i like to use.

First use a 1/4 Oz jig head if water is calm, cast out and wait for it to it the bottom. Lift the rod tip a foot or two and slowly wind as the plastic flutters back down to hit the bottom again. Do this until it's back at shore or boat/yak. The lure motion is like a something hopping across the bottom. You don't want wind too fast though. A pause of few seconds when at the bottom is good. Remember they lay on the bottom and ambush so you might not realise they are on until your next rod tip lift.

The other method is basically a slow retrieve on or close to the bottom. Cast out out, let it sinks. Slow retrieve. You may feel lure bounce or rocks or weed. 

They will take 3 inch to 9 inch plastics.

15 hours ago, Breaming with bro said: