I need help!

Hi all

I have a budget of $160.

I have a surf rod rated 4-7KG (Cheers Towknee) and another one rated 5-10KG (thanks Greg!). 

I have limited experience using Alvey reels. 

Any suggestions on one to get that will hold a decent bit of line, and handle tailor, bream, whiting, flathead, dart, and possibly small mulloway?

Cheers and Thanks,

Hamish

Hi Hamish, I have never been into Alveys so can't speak from experience, probably as when I was getting into fishing all the rods I saw were one piece and too long to fit in a car, however as you already have the rods you may as well go for it. From what I understand from reading about them and for the purpose you want to use it for, any of them should hold  more than enough line for your targeted species. If I were in your position, I would most likely look for a 5-6" spool and preferably with a drag (just for convenience sake), a lot of the Alveys do not have drags, the drag is probably not essential as I doubt that those species you mention will put up any fight to require a drag. With the Alvey's that don't have a drag you generally just use your hand on the spool to create the drag and stop the spool from releasing the line too fast., a small Mullaway is quite doable too, although if you are lucky enough to hook a largish one, a drag might be preferable but again not essential. Look at the Gumtree site as there are a lot of Alveys and priced between $40-110.

Does it have to be an Alvey? i.e. are the surf rods low mount (reel seat very close to butt, wire stripping guide - designed for alvey) or mid mount (designed for spin, reel seat around the middle of the grips, normal stripping guide)?

If it is a mid mount A Penn spinfisher around the 650-750 size would suffice for this sort of fishing, 12-15lb mono or 20lb braid with a 20lb-30lb FC leader will stop most things on the beaches.