looking for help targeting threadfin salmon Brisbane river landbased

Congratulations on your first threadie. I gave up years ago without getting one, so not the best person for tips. However, I do know that the park at the end of Quay Street, next to the sailing squadron, is/was a good spot to target them.

Good luck. Let us know how you go and post some pics if you can. 🙂

1 hour ago, AUS-BNE-FISHO said:

Hi Thorbjorn

I fish the river a lot for threadfin - I am no expert but I can give you a couple of tips that will help. 

When baitfishing for threadfin, the general rig I run (and many others too) is a size 3 or 4 star sinker, about 50-100cm of 30-60 pound trace, and a 3/o-6/o hook (4/o and 5/o being the best all round size). You can simply buy your hooks, sinkers, and swivels from Kmart or BigW, as you will loose a fair few rigs so not much point in spending a heap of money on them. The one thing I would recommend buying would be decent leader - I like FC Rock, but Platypus is decent leader too (I prefer fluorocarbon over mono as there is less stretch). I use 20-30 pound braid mainlines. As for combos, most will work. You won't want to fish any lighter than about 4-7KG, and the heaviest you generally need to use landbased is about 6-10KG (obviously you can go heavier or lighter as you please, but when you go lighter the sinkers become trickier to cast and when you go heavier the fight is not as long-lived/good). I like to use any reel around the 4000-6000 size - Penn Spinfishers are alright for this type of fishing as are Shimano Baitrunners/normal spinning reels. Any rod from 6"6 onwards will work well - longer for better casting distance.