Pin and surroundings.. what a day

br4d

Alright guys, im new to this (site and forum)

Took the tinny out today from Rudy Maas and went down to the JumpinPin for a bit of a fish, left with a full tank of juice. After a bit of fishing ended up goin down to Tipplers for a feed. On the way back went down around the pig sties near the pin bar there. was low tide and needed to cross to the other side, untill motor started to cough and splutter. Picked up the tank and it felt pretty empty.

Anyway, we manadges to get half across the bar and had to row to the other side against the chop with some oars that i wouldnt recomend. Sucked a few liters of fuel off some helpful guys on the other side , offered some money but they didnt accept, so we were on our way. Got halfway to the boat ramp and she stopped again. Hauled down some young chaps guys who just happend to pass by when we stopped, so a few more liters of fuel off them, and they were more then happy to take the money lol.

She started up fine and we were about 2 go again, untill the young guys boat who gave us fuel wouldnt start. I ended up towing them back to there boat ramp at cabbage tree, which was a very long and slow trip, having to stop once on the way to get more fuel. To be honest we were expecting the 20 back but we were just happy to be back. Got the boat back to Rudy maas and we were off!

Overall it was a sucky day with nothing decent caught, overcast weather and a long and painfull trip back home.

How did everyone else go?

How big is your tank and motor?

How big is your boat?

If you dont have a fuel leak somewhere, the general safety obligation requires you to carry enough fuel to get to where you are going, enough to get you back, and 1/3 over. So I reckon your up for a much bigger fuel tank before you go out again!

You went across a bar knowing you were low on fuel? go buy yourself a casket ticket, your very lucky to still be with us.