Advice on fixing reel seat.

Rocket75

I recently came into possession of a 2nd hand 24kg roller tip Shimano Backbone.

It was cheap as, but had one small problem...the reel seat had come away from the blank and spun around with the slightest application of pressure.

On a previous thread I received advice (thanks guys!) on fixing this problem with judicious application of araldite or one of it's cousins in the sticking business.

This is my first attempt at such an operation, my only previous experience being some DIY rod tip repairs:blush: so this is a big step up on the skill level for me :unsure:

To access the the problem area and apply said sticky stuff, I first had to clear a path on the blank to slide the seat up (unfortunately this area of grip was well and truly stuck down. Bloody hard work!

I chose to clear the area below the reel seat (closer to the gimbal butt), as I wanted the grip above the fixed seat to be in original condition as that is where I am most likely to be holding the rod when in action.

In hind site, it may have been easier to clear the area above the reel seat (toward the tip), as the blank seems to taper slightly in that direction, which would have made it easier to slide the reel seat up.

After much time spent scraping and peeling away layers of old glue and what looked like cardboard, I am at the point of now trying to refix the seat into position.

[img size=314]http://www.australianfishing.com.au/media/kunena/attachments/legacy/images/rod_repairs_002.jpg

One unforseen problem has arisen.

Now that I am back to "bare" blank, the reel seat has too much clearance and feels like it needs some kind of packing to make a tighter fit. If I were to try and pump the void full of "sticky stuff", I think that it would be hard to get the reel seat aligned correctly, and would take LOTS of glue.