where and how to fish with my kids?

Watto

G'day guys,

New here, and I'm no expert fisherman, so bear with me! I love fishing, but don't know much about it.

Anyway, I've been fishing a few times with my two kids, 10 & 7. We fished while up at Noosa in the river, and had enough success that the kids really got into it.

A different story when returning home to Wynnum, unfortunately! We've been to the William Gunn Jetty a few times with no success at all, and the kids are starting to get reluctant when I suggest a session. Can anyone suggest better venues around Wynnum/Manly (or reasonably nearby), or better methods for catching? I've never used lures (mostly use prawns or live worms), and I'm wondering if that's the way to go (if not too expensive) - I'm willing to try anything at this point, because I'd hate to think that with two boys, we won't go fishing regularly!

The boys would be cool with fishing off rocks or whatever. I'm happy with my session even if I don't catch anything, but kids these days want results :(

Thanks for any advice :)

G'day Watto, I agree in this day and age kids do want reslults, however just fishing as often as possible with the kids will achieve the results and catching fish is only a bonus. My kids love to fish and I thought they would be bored as well with nil results, WRONG.

My advice on where to go isn't helpful, but if I go somehwere new I just try and follow the locals, normally if the locals are not fishing then there is a reason. Anyway thats's just my 2 cents now go have fun with the kids.

Warmest Regards

Al [img size=500]http://www.australianfishing.com.au/media/kunena/attachments/legacy/images/phpWTJkRgPM.jpg

post-2756-144598448779_thumb.jpg

Biggles wrote: