Fluorocarbon leader

I am just an amateur fisho so please bear with me!

I have a little 6ft6 3-5kg berkley attack wit a Abu garcia cardinal, 8 Lb stren braid for the bream/whiting/lizards

and a Berkly attack 8ft 5-8kg with shimano sienna 4000, 20lb mono.

I have been fishing the Brissy river for Bream, the southport seaway for whiting and lizards, and catching little squire off my dads 28ft yacht inside of green island (when I get the chance!).

I have heard that fluorocarbon leader increases you catch rate, especially in clear water, so I am determined to get some!

Just wondering what strength I should get, and how long should I make my leader?

I have bought some 16Lb FC Rock, but i think it may be too heavy for my purposes?? (don't know why I did?)

any help is much appreciated!

ps I use soft plastics and HB lures on the smaller outfit as well as bait occasionally. I mainly use bait on the heavier outfit and cast further out in hope of that bigger fish!

Thanks! :)

I love this website!

i use 6lb fc for brean up to 37 cm and anything busting me off i go 8lb. i use 20lb in 100 metres of water for big snapper. the lighter you go the more fish you will catch is wat i think.

pat

p.s you will get frustrated with bust offs but there will be lots of chances.

i rarely if ever use fluro, black magic tough trace in 20, 40 and 60 covers all of my mouth fishing basically

lot of night fishing anyway so doubt it makes a huge difference, i dont really notice catch rate going up on 20lb vs 60lb, i let the structure/location and target species dictate what leader im using and if its a mixed bag type of spot and threadies are reasonably expected its 40lb

cheers

Dan

I'd have to agree with both fishguru5 and Nadders on this one...

The lighter you go the better chance of a hook up on better quality fish and that again all depends on the terrain you are fishing.

There is no one size fits all, you have to take into consideration of all the factors at play.

Brett