Completely new to freshwater fishing

Miegs

Hi all,

I'm originally from SA and the only freshwater fishing I did down there was for carp (which I's happy doing because they make good crab bait ;) ). I've been living up here in QLD for one and a half years and have just moved into North Lakes. I've done a bit of research and see that Lake Samsonvale and Lake Kurawongah aren't too far away, but see that posts are from boats. Are theses 2 spots worthwhile fishing from the shore? and how would I got about doing it? (I'm happy just catching anything from carp to tilapia but would like to catch natives too eventually).

On another point, what's the best way to catch shrimp? I'm a school teacher a student brought in a couple bass to put in our tanks in the science lab. I've been feeding them feeder fish from an aquarium shop, but at $12 a bag :whistle: , they're turning into an expensive class pet and thought if I could catch shrimp (or other small fish?) that might be the way to go.

Any help on either of these would be greatly appreciated.

Miegs

hi meigs, if you get a cheap bait net from rays tents or the tackle shop in carseldine for like about $8 i use sausage & or dove soap and throw it in the creek overnight i usually have a dozen or so shrimp to go fishing with.

north pine dam and the surroiunding creeks are pretty good to fish in.

always up for a fishing companion.

Good fish can be taken from both lakes from the shore, but be wary of the bass closed season for Kurwongbah. Even though the bass don't breed in there its not on the exempt list.

Samsonvale is open to bass during the closed season but you'll need an SIP to fish it.

The fishing used to be amazing out there before the water came up.

I'll be hitting some old spots landbased at Samsonvale pretty soon to see how I go.

To fish Samsonvale simply get a good pair of boots and start walking the banks until you find the fish. Hard work and exploring can pay off.