outboard motor care tips for the boater like me who liked to fix his own outboard motors say older 2 stroke evinrudes and related outboards

old.salty mick 1983

hello my fisho friends here was a tip for outboard motor care say on older Evinrude's say te  older model 40hp outboards same tips applies to the same year Johnsons in the 40hp outboards made later on atfer say 1995 and later versions here is my tip on caring for a well used and cared for outboard 

as i service my outboard i take note of the parts needed Replacing thiswas my good tips on doing a service on these later model outboards 

1st tip was when replacing a set of spark plugs make sure you have the correct champion plugs for that model outboard as you replace the old plugs make sure you install them the right ways say same way in all 2and 3and 4cyls in the powerhead thiswas i mentioned was all model outboards thats was 4hp to say 140hp model outboards as i was a ex marine mechanic as i worked on these outboards in my time in the shop at Arizona outboards this was a outboard repair shop on the NSW central coast as i was a learning mechanic and was getting a feel for the outboard trade thats how i learnt on these outboards that was made by OMC at the time as there was other tips i had learnt from the trade say was really care for your motor well and dont ever skip the servicing better have a well serviced outboard on your boat in my case i have a good knowledge on outboard motor care as i knew thiswas really my good knowledge was getting there in my learning on outboard motors being a disabled boater i have to really service my outboards myself so id save money and learn on the job in all facet of outboard motor care as you knew thiswas what i knew are really good outboard motor care tips as well too was wach your outboard atfer use and importanly was really give your outboard a really good flushing out with fresh water atfer use as needed say when you flush the outboard in the case of older premix ou