Nudgee Beach vs Port of Brisbane

Gordo

Hey guys just asking your opinion on what is do you think is an overall better landbased fishing spot Nudgee beach or Port of Brisbane. I'm very new to fishing and new to this forum. I heard good things about these spots and i checked them out a few times. I went out to Nudgee Beach once, about a month ago and had a below average run with only catching 1, 36cm Flatty just off the beach at the end of Nudgee Rd and went to Boats Passage twice doing a bit better with 3 legal bream on my first attempt and 0 fish on my 2nd attempt. Any advice from anyone would help about spots, tips, bait with be great. I might give one of the places a go this weekend and write a fishing report on it.

Post edited by: Gordo, at: 2007/03/29 11:26

Mate out along Nudgee way, both at nudgee beach and the sorrounding creeks are great little spots.

Do you ever fish with lures and plastics as thats the way to go.

Check out Jordans latest 8 reports on Shultz Canal. Its very close to nudgee. Its an unlikely looking place i know, but once you see those reports you will be convinced.

Good luck mate and look forward to a report.

Angus

Thanks Angus for the response and tips.

My mate and I are planning to head out and check out Boggy Creek early tomorrow morning and maybe Nudgee Beach next week. I had a look a the report on Shultz Canal and its looks like a great spot for fishing. The only thing is i don't have a tinnie and im not sure if you can go there with foot. Just wondering what sort of plastics and lures you use to target bream and flathead?

Mate every single one of those Shultz canal reports is land based.

Flathead are suckers for soft plastics. I like Berkley power baits, 3'' and 4''.

They are also very aggressive towards hard bodies, i think more out of being pissed off all the time at being so ugly as opposed hungry.

On that note being a snaggy place i would not spend loads. Try some Halco Scorpions or Laserpro's. They do the job for me.