Boat Capacity Labels .....

kmcrosby78

Well, after using my 14ft tinny since I acquired from my brother/dad in 2010, and after being visited by water police approximately 5 times in that time, I learnt something that I'd been missing on Sunday. I was drifting for whiting near the Small Boat Passage (ironically I forgot my Beacon to Beacon and as I am a newbie to this area I was concerned I was somehow in the Green Zone judging by the way the water cop, who was on a jetski which I don't think I've seen before, was approaching me/looking at me funny.  Turned out to be a great guy and after checking everything (glad he did as it made me realise my flares expire in June - he was impressed that I write the expiry on top of the box however :)) he asked where my Builders Plate or Capacity Label was. I was familiar with a Builders Plate and couldn't recall whether I had one or not but I drew a blank on the Capacity Label. Issued a warning/caution and received no fine and was told to go to a 'Chandlery' to get one (drew a blank on this word too - is it an old-fashioned word?).