Need Tips Casting Lever Drag Overhead - Shimano Tld

ShienXIII

Hi,

I'm new to this forum, so if I made some mistake please let me know.

I have a Shimano TLD 20 reel which I bought recently along with a Daiwa Sensor Surf(11.6 ft).
This is my first time using an overhead reel and casting a rod this large.
I'm confident with casting a baitcaster, largest that I've used is a Corvalus, but I might have been relying too much on the brakes and spool tension knob, and it's not on this one.

I've practised using what I know from my baitcaster experience by adjusting the drag knob so that the baits fall down slowly, but the best I can do goes as far as my usual baitcaster cast(around 10-15 m), along with a light birdsnest. I even tried releasing my thumb earlier during casting.

Any looser and a birdsnest occur pretty quickly, killing the distance to only a few metres, even if I had my thumb lightly on the spool.

If anyone can provide me with any tips I'll be really grateful.

Also, I have a size 3 star sinker and a 6-7 cm x 5-6cm squid for the bait(spproximately), do I need more weight for my setup?

tld 20s aren't the best casting reel designed for trolling..use more lead..hang sinker at least 4/5 ft from tip and use long pendulum swing at 45 degrees over shoulder and thumb heavily..ps try wetting line before you cast. stops burnt thumb...I use a tld 30 off breakwall down here for jew but I use 8 oz snapper lead..you may be better off buying a sealine or other surf style o/hd reel..rick

honestly never used a lever drag unit for casting, always used them on boat rods.

Cant see why you couldnt use a smaller one like the 20 for it though.

Sounds like you need some extra braking on the spool - have you tried with the spool engaged but the lever backed right off?

TLD's are very hard to cast over shoulder like a baitcaster. 15's are ok but the bigger dia are not really designed for this.