Blinky

Hi All,

I have been using the site a little for a few months and have now finally registered. I don't get out fishing as much as I would like but I am going to change that I hope. This seems to be a vibrant and polite forum, I have read quite a few threads today and will continue to do so.

I used to fish a lot more as a kid down around Gosford and surrounds and have had some very limited experiences in the NT but now live in Brisbane. So any advice you can offer on good local places will be appreciated! I have been trying out places such as Nudgee and the Shultz Canal, but to date have not had a lot of luck. I did get a good Bream not to long ago there, but mostly Catfish, which I threw back in... though reading the forums here maybe I should have given it a go on the plate!

My partner and I are interested in fishing for food, while I appreciate sport fishing would be great fun, our main reason for getting out there is to get dinner. I am going to buy my partner some gear (new rod) tomorrow for her birthday, not a typical birthday present for a girlfriend I guess, but I know she will be stoked. Actually look who I am talking too... it's probably a very normal present around here.

Anyway looking forward to the wealth of experience located within these forum walls.

Cheers!

Hey Mate,

Welcome to the site :laugh: I'am land base most of the time and i landed a 73cm Dusky flathead on fresh prawns at Nudgee (low tide on the flats). Try get into Sp and HB fishing it great fun and your always flicking and retriving so it's fun. :P I have neever caught a fish on a SP but if great fun for everyone.

Hope this helps :laugh:

THX

PLUGGa

Thanks Plugga.

Haven't had any experience with SP (which I am going to assume means Spinnerbait?) fishing, but keen to get to know what is the best approach for the local waterways. I read your other thread on the Flathead earlier today, nice fish, love eating them too, so hopefully I can get into some of them soon.