Shrimp soft plastics

Dav0

Hi guys!

I am still very new to soft plastics and just had a quick question. Now I have been doing a tone of reading about fishing with soft plastics on this forum and others and have gotten quite comfortable with catching flathead with the squidgie 75 and 100mm paddle tail fish but when I'm not getting any interest on those I always have some others in the bag to throw out as well. Last Friday I went for a wonder and found a good spot at low tide with heaps! Of flathead lies so decided to give it a go with the new gulp 2" shrimp/prawns I just got. Now without a paddle tail they don't have any natural swimming action so i would do 2-3 short sharp hops off to bottom let it sink hit the bottom and rinse repeat.... Am i not retrieving these right because as soon as I changed back to the paddle tail I got a hookup?

Just want to know if I'm doing it wrong!

Cheers

Davo

I`m no SP guru,and prefer to fish the flats with bait rather than sp`s,but what success that I have had using (storm)shrimp/yabby sp has been across yabby bed sandbanks as the tide comes across it .By casting out and walking with the current and allowing the sp to bottom out then using a light lift and repeating the process I have picked up flatty and whiting.

Just a comment on your mention of heaps of flathead lies at the spot you were at,it’s the practice of flatties to move with water depth across an area as the tide moves in or out,for example if you have 5/6 flatties in an area,and they move around and bed in a number of times in that area,at low tide with the number of lies you see,you could think that there was 15-20 or more flatties in that area when the tide was up.

hi

i just about only use gulp 2" shrimp.

i like the 2 hop but it is not law

i was like that with minnow's thinking i had the twich wrong

but it just worked one day and not the next(went out yesterday 6hrs for one bream drop it at the bank :angry: )

q