engine overheat problem need help

Beejay

Hey guys,

Just asking if anyone has ever worked on a 89-93 evinrude 120horse V4 VRO outboard?

Ive had an overheating problem with my alarm coming on but the water coming out the back of the motor feels warm.

I took the housing covers off both the thermostats today and the two thermostats look very dicky, did the hot water test and both didnt pass, so went to leisure marine and bought two brand new ones and replaced them.

Dropped boat in at Manly and took her for a test drive thinking I may have fixed the problem with just the thermostats, but 5 minutes out the mouth of Manly boat harbour and the overheat alarm went off again.

Im not a mechanic but im having a crack at it because I know its gonna cost me alot in labour charges, and I have the boat booked in for Monday Morning. Just thought I would have a look myself to save some of my hard earned dollars.

Now that the new thermostats havent fixed the problem, im thinking of unbolting the heads tommorrow and see if theres any kind of blockages in there? I just want some input into wether or not im doing the right thing and if im looking in the right places for the problem.

Ive checked all the spark plugs to make sure there is no water in with them, so im pretty sure I havent cracked the head, I would just like to know what im looking for as far as blockages go when I take both the head cases of tommorrow.

Any input would be greatly appreciated cheers Beejay

firstly, are you getting water out of the column,

secondly, check the new thermostats, yes "both" of them, as 1 may be faulty? if you can also check the temp at which they are opening would be nice to know too.

thirdly i would be looking at your impeller if you still have a reasonable water supply comming from the column, where it normally comes through, just below the cowl? i believe. leave the heads to the very last option. as you will pick up on any water entering the combustion chamber.