Gold Coast Shark Action?

Death Ray

Hi All,

I have just signed up to this site. It looks good, I have been looking for a fishing site with more of a local focus than the main forums on Fishnet etc... No critism intended.

I have been fishing the Gold Coast for the last 25 years or so, but have only in the last couple of years turned to shark fishing (or should I say shark trying). To date I have only landed one small Hammerhead Shark from behind Hope Island. And I mean small. I mainly fish the canals, rivers and creeks as they tend to be quiter. At night the canals on the Gold Coast have lots of surface action, and I often wonder who are the culprits.

I would really appreciate any tips out there that would increase my strike rate. I am catching lots of large catfish, stingrays and even larger pike eels. I have also started berleying, and would appreciate tips on cost friendly burley tips also. I am using large live mullet or mullet fillets for bait mostly. I used a slab of stingray over Xmas and picked up a 2.5kg Estuary Cod on that. My first legal size cod, which was a bonus. I am using 7/O circle hooks, 80lb nylon coated traces with 80lb mono leaders down to 30lb braid main line. Is this setup too heavy? I hear of people fishing quite heavy and still doing OK!

All the best for the weekend.

Andrew

Doesn't sound too heavy to me. Bait sounds right too. Are you getting any hits ? Maybe moving your bait off the bottom may help. Try using a paternoster rig.

There are heaps of threads on this topic. Search in Community/Forum/Fishing/Sharking.

Also look in the hints and tips section.

Here's one such thread -
/>http://www.australianfishing.com.au/fish-information/hints-and-tips/how-to-catch-bull-sharks-river-whalers.html

From what i hear about the Gold Coast canals etc your well and truly on the right track. In fact using live baits etc im surprised you have no suceeded.

Its going to get quiet soon for Sharkies in the canals with winter coming on.