outfit for estuaries and salt

mrb16a2

heys guys im new to sp ansd hb fishing and just wondering what is a good comnbo estuary and saltwater lure sp and hb outfit,rod (brand) how many kg and reel and line....targeting like lizardz,bream, jews, mangroves and other species that may exceed the point of 30+cm that users SP OR HB...

What is your budget? You can pick up a combo from BCF for a little over $100, or spend well over the $1000 mark on a good setup. I think if you turn up to a tackle store with $250 you will walk out with a nice little combo. Il let some of the tackle junkies on here suggest specific setups once you give a budget

As woodie said how much do you want to spend and land based or boating.A good starting point would be a rod of about 3/5 kg about 7ft to 7ft3 with soft tip is the go. A reel up to 2500/3000 with a spare spool so you can run 2 different line classes 1 with 3kg on up 5 on the other. If your using braid remember to always use somesort of leader material eg fluro or mono.good luck

cheers dassa

i pretty much just run 2-4kg set ups with 2500's reels. have caught fish from whiting and stupidly to a shark (only once did i do this) if your looking high end then twin power 2500's and a 2-4kg is a beutiful set up but i reckon a starlo stix pro tournament 2-4kg with a 2500 stradic will last you for years.

pat

agree with pat i can vote for a sol i have a 2500 and a 3 to 5 kg berkley attack rod and havent had anyting really test it but anything close was nothing and i run 6pd braid and looking to get 12 pd for target something a bit heavier i also have a 2 - 4 kg catana rod ( snapped the tip ><) with a sienna 2500 for only 60 buck a great reel but the main thing is wash your gear down throuoghly and i use inox to spray anywhere where it moves the handle bail arm etc