Hello and a couple of questions

1800amix

G'day,

Been reading a bit on the site but thought I'd say hi and also see if anyone can assist with a couple of questions.

I'm new to fishing... well, it's been about 18years since I lived up at Airlie Beach and fishing up there was like going to the supermarket.

So I've started gearing up again, and also bought a small boat to run around the Brisbane river and Moreton bay.

I'm in the process of getting it ready to launch and am now up to the fun part... Electrical .

So a bit of info:

15ft boat with a Mercury 50hp outboard.

From what I can tell it's a 76 model 2 stroke and has a remote with electric key start.

Current electrical: cabin light, running lights, fishfinder, 27Mhz radio.

Questions:

1. battery looks like a car battery so I plan to turf it but I'm wondering whether to go single or dual marine batteries.

2. I've attached a pic of the wiring diagram of the current set up. It seems a bit strange to me and I have something in the circuit that I can't identify so hopefully someone will know. Depending on suggestions of single or dual setup, I guess I'll pretty much start from scratch from the switchboard back.

Pic at http://aerostar.comuv.com/WireDiag.jpg

3. Recommendations on a suitable charging system.

Thanks for your help.

Adrian

Acouple of photos would be helpful. Each side of the powerhead and the mystery component.