newbie with new poppers

jhedrick

Hi, I am new to qld and I really want to try poppers. 1. I dont know what colours catch what fish 2. Dont know where a good place on the gold coast is (from land) 3. What pound leader i should use.

I am a land based person but i really want to get into fishing here as bait fishing gets a bit boring. I have attached a photo of the lures i have bought. It would be great if someone can help me out saying which ones will catch what fish and what techniques i should use. They are all 60mm. Any help will be awesome. Thanks guys poppers-20100326.JPG

Hello and welcome mate. Nice lookin poppers mate... ebay specials? ... dont worry, i bought some last week and just as keen as you are to wet them.

Mate, check out the gold coast reports, im sure you will get some tips on spots.... Schilling just put a post up 2 days ago.....

/>http://www.australianfishing.com.au/forum/8-south-coast-reports/255265-finallymangrove-jack

He used bait, but im sure poppers are worth a shot at Marine Pde, Runaway Bay (near Harbour town). Mate you could also try in Cascades garden... Good lure spot.

Ive heard people catch very descent sized fish in the little river at Pacific Fair.... underneath the bridge... both on lures and bait... just watch out for those snags, otherwise, there is a little beach there that i personally have done pretty well with. WHiting, flatty, bream, dart. Seen squire in there.

As for Soft plastics... check out previous posts. My personal fav is the berkely 4"smelt with 1/4 jig. Its a deadly weapon if ur chasin flatty.

Good luck mate. Hope to see a great report from you tomorrow. B)

Hi j,

My first popper session was about 2/3 weeks ago and i landed a 30cm trevally. Things to look for are - fast moving current (with some eddies), rockwalls, bridges, jetties etc

Use a fast bloop-bloop retrieve with not many pauses for trevally & other big fishies and slower retrieve for bream etc (yet to catch a bream on popper only had 2 sessions)