Gear Necessities

fatmuf

:silly: Hey all sharkers, old and new, lone or crew, him and you - I'm lookin at doin a bit of sharking up the Brissie river and need a couple tips and to-do's.

I'm a pretty rookie fisherman, but not good-for-nothing, and i need to know what sort of gear i'll need for a bit of sharking.

I've got my standard gear for fishing, so thats all sweet, just need to know what size and type of hooks i'll need, and what poundage leader i'm looking at. Maybe even bait tips?

Anything else i'm not aware of would be good cos if i'm not doing it right, there's no point in doing it.

I'm a very patient bloke and even if i don't catch anything, i consider a day of fishing a day well spent - i just need to know i have the right gear for sharking before heading out.

Obviously I don't want to hook the biggest toothy grin :evil: first go haha, just start small.

SO what you got??

have a look in the sharking category and up the top theres neil shultz sharking or something like that that tells you everything personally i use two 4/0 5/0 on about 1m steel trace 60lb i use dead mullet but if i catch anything live thats what i go for either catties or bream with the catties cut the fins off good luck