Which Transducer to buy - Help.

Bri The Pom

No worries mate. I forget the exact stats but I think they recommend the 83khs for 30m (100ish foot) or less, And the 50khz for anything more.

It pretty much comes down to this. The 83khz will have a wider cone beam, making it easier to identify structure and fish in a larger, shallower area. Whereas the 50khz will have a thinner one, meaning you will see less of a wider area but will get a better return when going deeper.

Anyone feel free to jump in and correct me if this is wrong :)

I hope this helps mate - Jono

/>http://www.lowrance.com/Support/Tips-and-Tutorials/Transducer-Guide/

Also I think if you google the difference between them a heap of stuff will come up from other forums. I had to research it when I was looking at buying.

yeah Scope has got it right with the frequencies. I work with sonar for a living in the offshore industry (as I write this I am currently on the north west shelf, tracking two remotely operated vehicles in 120m of water by sonar, drooling over the underwater video of giant reef jacks/nannygai/cod/spanglies/GT's :) ), and basically the lower the frequency, the deeper it will work. However, the higher the frequency you can get away with is better, as you get much better definition ie: you are more likely to pick up a fish sitting off the seabed, and get a better idea of what the seabed looks like.

The nerdy mechanics of it, the lower the frequency = the bigger the physical size of the soundwave. Therefore a smaller sized (higher frequency) soundwave has a better chance of bouncing off small objects, however it struggles to travel as far. I think a good comparision would be a wave hitting a bommie- the part of a small choppy wave hitting the bommie will be reflected off it, but a big rolling swell wave will roll over the top of it and not be reflected till it hits the shoreline.