Fresh In The Freshwater Of Lake Borumba

Luke Landrunner

After pedalling the yak around parts of the Noosa system for the last year, I finally tried something new and went 30 minutes the other direction to the beautiful  Borumba. 

First session was last Saturday. Stubbornly I went out with less than favourable conditions. Only having two "shower proof" Broncos training jackets didn't keep the constant drizzle from soaking me through. Although I persisted through from a 4am start to around 8, all I had was a few bumps on the spinner bait and blades that I was throwing around. 

Not to be deterred, I did my homework ( old Borumba reports and tips on here ) and had another window of Thursday and Friday. Armed with a couple of jitterbugs ( thanks @aussie123) and some purple blades as well as specific plastics, I was set to pop my freshwater yak cherry.

With much better weather on Thursday first light, a regular pointed out at the ramp where the Saratoga had been close by. So over I pedalled to spot X,Y & Z. About 15 minutes in I had my first surface strike and wow what a strike it was. Unfortunately no hookup but it got the heart racing. 

Being addicted to surface lures in the salt, I cast a hundred more times for naught. 

Time to move and drop the blades. 

By now it was about 7.30 and I was getting a few half hearted hits and the weed was getting on my nerves, time was running out to get home for the first ball of the Ashes.The duck was broken with a 27cm bass and first fish from the fresh. Friday was now on my mind.