Hurry Up Spotty Macs

Drop Bear

Soooo I'm pretty new to Bay Mackerel fishing and haven't really had much success. I'm really keen to target them this summer and wanted to ask a few questions before I contribute to global warming, charging aimlessly around the bay. 

Is the plural for spotty Spotties or spottys? :lol: (very important question for this dyslexic angler)

When do the Spotties usually turn up and what is the best month/months for targeting them?

What is your favorite method to catch them?

Do you have any favorite spots? I have been told sand hills but have had no luck there and don't really know how much water to fish in. I have never had much luck beacon bashing. 

What is the best way to distinguish Spotties from School Mackerel? 

How important is water clarity? 

I plan to do a fair bit of paravaneing. What is your favorite lure? Do cut metals work or are spoons the go? Are the white plastic spoons ok? What speed do you like to troll at?

What lb leader is best for paravaneing?

Is there a better time of day/wind direction/moon phase to get them? I was told that during the day at full moon is rubbish as they have been eating all night?

What else do you want to tell me? :frantics:

6 minutes ago, Drop Bear said:

haha ok I will probably need to do a fair bit of this. I would be trying to get them in the middle of the bay as I'm based in Wynnum.

Thanks for the tips. too windy today to even go and have a look. 

I am far from an expert mate but have some starting points...