Opportunity for a laugh (one time only offer)

caelen

Went down to the local fishing spot early this morning to keep the kids amused. Been having a bit of success lately with a few bream and some catties thrown in for amusement.

After a bit decided to give the brand new cast neta go. Keep in mind being from south of the border I have never used one before. So with no one around to embarress myself in front of I had ten casts. A bit of mumbling and swearing later and I proudly pulled in my first prawn from the river. Little bugger went about 10 cm.

(Yes Im getting to the have a laugh bit)

After reading through the many posts on here about the value of said prawns as bait I decided to throw him onto my rod. Now this rod hold 20lb braid and a 30 pound leader just in case I actualyl catch something worth writing home about :).

Sat with the rod for a few mins before getting bored and decided to show of my wonderful cast netting abilities to my little girl (shes 2).

(Yes Im getting to the have a laugh bit)

Anyway after a few more casts I give up (I really do s^&k at netting at the moment) and head back to the rods. It was at that EXACT moment the said live prawn attached to said line attached to my reel and attached to my rod was hoiked about 5 yards in to the river and heading DOWN into the murky depths.

For those of you living in Caboolture and the Goldcoast that was me you heard swearing. Apologies for the profanities.

(Wait it gets better)

After 15 mins or so of swearing and hoping I would see it floating to the top I decided ahh well Ill just keep fishing with my other rod. Three casts later and :woohoo: WOOOHOOO Im snagged onto my lovely 20lb braid.