hi!

fishergirl

OK, Im a Noob. My name is Lisa and Im a fishergirl obviously...i live in hervey bay...

Im not from Brisbane but i spend a little bit of time down there, and Im going to be there all weekend this weekend...

I need some tips and hints from some locals about easy to get to fishing spots..and preferred bait and tackle..

I went fishing last time at the mouth of the Nudgee Creek/ RIver it was a bit windy and way to many jelly fish...and some little creek behind the airport..there was an oil refinery on the opther side of the creek..

Im only going to have light tackle, so im looking for somewhere to fish!!!!!

normally i do reef fishing or wide fishing, occasionally beach fishing..

I used to do alot of river fishing when i lived on the Clarence river..but havent done in a while..

thanks in advance.

Lisa!

(please excuse all my typos!!)

Well just for bread and butter fish i would suggest you bring a 2-4kg or 3-5kg setup with 6-8lb line. That should be suffiecent. If you just want bream,whiting,flathead i would try Live Bait if you can get it or Live Bloodworms (From a baitshop), fresh prawns or white bait. On a simple running sinker trace with a size 3-4 sinker and a size 10-12 swivel, hook size is up to you. But i like to fish Longshank size 4 for whiting, Widegap size 6 for Bream and Size 1/0 Longshank for Flathead. Good Luck

fishergirl wrote:

ok well that all makes sense, but

i only know the northside of Bris. and the only fishing store i actually know the location of is the BCF in Virginia...

Im not trying to pry into secret locations lol, just a general idea...

thanks though

Hi fishergirl, welcome aboard.

The guys here will give you some quality information for sure.

If you want some more, just duck down to Anaconda at Everton Park (you can get the address off the website). Speak to young Mark or Trevor. They know their stuff and can help you out for sure.

Cheers,

Michael

Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!

ill keep all that in mind!!!