new and so many questions

rinkerdink

Hi all and hello,

I am new to Australia, arrived on the 12/9 and having sorted out all the usual set up stuff finally got around to getting a cheap spinning rod and going fishing. I am used to thumping a 170g lead out as far as possible and hoping for the best so the comparative light tackle used for shore based sea fishing is totally new.

I bought a cheap 8 foot rod from K-mart to get me started (I plan to upgrade this later) picked up a few hooks ands weights and went to Woody Point pier/jetty with the kids yesterday, amazed we actually caught: a puffer/box fish, leather jacket, bar tailed flathead and a couple of blue swimmer crabs. We were using prawn and pilchards. Only one of the crabs was big enough to keep but I gave it away to a fellow fisher who helped me out when it was going bananas as I didn't have a clue what to do with it, the rest went back.

I have seen the Gulp baits and wondered if they were worth a go and how to use them/ which ones to use? can you cast the same bait repeatedly? (if so it should work out cheaper than buying frozen bait). What baits do you use and where are the good spots? what rigs/ tackle do you use? basically please give me a few pointers. I am living in Bracken Ridge and I am keen to join a fishing club, what is the local one?

I've been to BCF today and bought one of the sure catch starter sets, now raring to go armed with loads of hooks, swivels and enthusiasm!

Any advise or recommendations greatly appreciated

:)

If you want to get into soft plastic fishing i recommend grabbing yourself a pack like this from BCF. The dvd is quite good and will teach you the basics.

/>http://www.bcf.com.au/online-store/products/Berkley-PowerBait-Soft-Plastics-Kit-.aspx?pid=119734#Description

The Kmart combo will probably be ok for bait fishing but for soft plastic fishing something like this would be better suited. Just spool up the reel with 8-10lb braid and your laughing.