I am not sure if my balls are big enough.

tomartomau

I have standard 4lb balls for the downrigger. Clearly when I was trolling at 12kms the ball was not holding in suspension. I have emailed Scotty about the maximum weight and for that model it is 10lbs.

I have located somewhere to purchase a new one (not many people sell their balls second hand on ebay, but my question is would I get the traditional round weight with a fin or the fish shape type? Application is for trolling only, the 4lb seems fine for bottom bashing so far.

Cheers

Tony

Trolling at 12km hr seems all to quick for running a down rigger most guys I know that use them have their baits on the down rigger and you should only be in idle or just over, worth talking to some of the more experienced guys from a big tackle shop etc

Thanks guys, I am new to the downrigger thing as well. I was under the impression that 12kms/hr was about the right speed for trolling for Spanish Mackeral (upper end speed limit).

I have purchased a slightly heavier metal slug at 85gms, so I will see how I go, also reducing the speed would probably be a good idea, say to 7km/hr.

Thanks again, and yes my balls are black plastic coated..

If it spanish mackerel your targeting then definately slow down and use it for your baits have your metals ie' spoons etc on the surface just past idle is perfect for them, wahoo is what the guys race around with led head skirts for wahoo I always look at those guys and think of what their fuel bill will be at the end of the day. Live baits and rigged gar etc for the down rigger the pro fisherman use nothing else on them and their spoon on a surface rod

• 1 month later...