Lake Kurwongbah Warning

Dinodadog

I have been fishing Lake Kurwongbah for the last 6 or 7 years watching the bass grow to a nice size. Most of that fishing has been landbased at ski road and surounds. Well that has all come to a dead stop from now on. I put up a couple of posts recently from there, my idea was to do a bit of fishing there before the new rec policy took effect on the 8 sept. Well to cut a long story short the rec policy for some items of it are already in place. Fairdinkum you have to be a mind reader to know whats going on.

Instead of putting up no fishing signs or something along those lines, the new rules are if there small sign that says for day use only is not present then you cant fish there. So the only place you can fish landbased is Mick Hanfling park on Torrens road and the small picnic area at the start of the dam wall (not including the wall) on dayboro road.

I personaly think this is atrocious and the end of ski road should still be open to the public for fishing. Not to many bass or toga are taken from the other 2 places mentioned above unless at night which is illegal also.

On another note on the 8sept when kayakers are allowed on the dam I asked are there any restrictions and was told that the area near the wall and the rowing club would be out of bounds and nobody is allowed ashore anywhere except for the launch site, so somebody better get moving and publish these rules if they want people to know and abide by them.

Dino

Gunna upset the fly boys no Ski rd access. Just goes to show how careful you have to be when they do a recreation review,

People tend to take things for granted and I bet hardly anyone put in a submission that fishing access be allowed at ski rd and SEQ water deemed that there was little demand.