Graphite or alluminium spools?

boon

Hey guys just wondering which one you prefer and why? I know that alluminium is more durable but heavier but just wondering what users think. I've got a cheap shimano reel with a graphite body which I intend to use in a light tackle setup and gonna get an alluminium one for the heavier rod.

Much of a muchness to be honest. Most of my reels came with an aluminium spool, and a second graphite one. The graphite one gets the mono, the aluminium the braid. But I dont notice the difference bewtween the materials they are made of while using them..

jeff f wrote:

if graphite isn't carbon fiber what is it

Hey Jeff, I was curious of the differences as well, so did a bit of research and found a thread about it.

Fellas,

I'm a composites engineer by day. And I actually know the anser to this question! It's even one of the points I make in a presentation that I sometimes give to new engineers.

The difference lies in the time and temperature at which the fibers are heated during the manufacturing process. Graphite is formed at hotter temperatures than carbon, the result of more crystaline alignment and cross linking of the carbon atoms.

The result, in a nutshell, is that carbon is STRONGER than graphite, but graphite is STIFFER than carbon. So while graphite will elongate (stretch) less than carbon, it will break before a carbon fiber does. In other words, graphite is more \"brittle\" than carbon.

Even in the industry, the terms \"graphite\" and \"carbon fiber\" seem to be used interchangeably. However, in almost all cases when we are dealing with fibers, they are carbon fibers and not graphite. The combination of strength and stiffness make carbon fibers much more useable in real world applications than graphite.

Andy

That's from this site -> http://www.washingtonflyfishing.com/board/archive/index.php/t-38339.html

Brian D wrote:

So why don't they make carbon rods instead of graphite.?? Dur.:blink: