Inshore Plastics Combo

fishyman

hey guys,

well seeing as my current build is on hold due to havign to have the blank sent back i thought id start studying at my next project.

i will be building myself an Inshore Plastics Rod soon for chasing the likes of snapper,sweetlip, any reefies really and tuna,kingies,trevs out in the bay and at places like 9 mile for example.

at the moment im thinking something around 7'6'' 8-17lb line weight with a lure weight of 1/4-5/8 ounces.

i found this blank which i think could be perfect

P904-GL2 7'6 1 MEDIUM FAST 8-17lb 1/4-5/8oz

it will be matched to a shimano stradic 4000 FI and probably running around 15-20lb braided line.

what i want to ask is for your opinions, as i have never really done any offshore fishing whatsoever i am a real noob when it comes to what tackle. would 8-17lb (4-8.5kg) be enough or should i look at more?

should i look at a fast action for better SP action or a more parabolic curve to compensate for the no stretch factor in the braid?

any help and comments appreciated :)

now i just have to get dad of his bum and go boat shopping :woohoo: :woohoo: :woohoo: :woohoo:

i saw a 6000 TP at charltons the other week built tough thats for sure. the reason im leaning on a 4000 compared to 5000 is because ill be standing and casting for a long time and well im built like a twig fatigue comes into it after a while. although looking at the shimmy website just then the 5000 is only 70 more grams.

so 4000 or 5000 hmmm decisions decisions.

Dan23 wrote:

Shouldn't you be at School? Parobolic? WTF:S maybe you should just forget about the quadratics of fishing gear and do your english assignment :P

ive been vomiting for the last 2 days. thus no school for me

parabolic, as in a slower action, even curve. rather than a faster action that only bends in say the top third of the rod.

lol learn to big words dan

shouldnt you be working :P

fishyman wrote: